Trainspotting live – In Yer Face Theatre Company

I had the absolute pleasure to see Trainspotting tonight at the Pleasance EICC. I had tried to see this production last year but it completely sold out. I must say I felt like a very bad Scot, having not seen any form of trainspotting before, but I can definitely say I was blown away by the performance this evening.

Trainspotting is a completely immersive theatre event. I wouldn’t call it a show at all, It really is an experience. When I spoke to Greg Esplin, Tommy, He described it like a hit of drugs. It starts off with an amazing high, lots of laughs and fun, and then very suddenly and rapidly you fall into withdrawal and all becomes very painful.

One thing that I find often with Immersive Theatre, is that the actors can often fall short as the audience are so distracted by everything else. However, in this production, the acting is phenomenal. There were comedic moments, heart-wrenching moments, and moments where I wanted to look away.  Esplin, was fantastic, loveable yet tragic. Paired with Gavin Ross, Mark, they both just brought the show to life- with the rest of the fantastic cast. And of course their 8th cast member – The audience.

I would highly recommend- It really is a must see for the fringe. But book soon, because it will sell out!

 

Trainspotting is running at The Tunnel at EICC Pleasance until the 28th at 18:00, 19:45, and at 21:30 on Fridays and Saturdays

Leave a Reply

