Foxtrot- Ed Fringe

I saw Foxtrot today at Paradise in the Vaults. This venue was actually one of the first places where I saw an actual piece of Theatre that wasn’t commercial or mainstream. About 5 years ago, I saw Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde there, and it was really lovely to return to that space, after all that has changed over the past 5 years. It is such an amazing space, I would love to perform in there at some point, the stage is naturally framed from the arches of the cellar.
The story was interesting. It was very arty, and I have to say, I did get slightly confused at who was who etc. But otherwise I liked how it was presented. I think it was arty, and political. It looked at the story of three children who have gone missing, but in a mismatched, sort of collage style.  It looked at Identity and the idea of knowing someone. It was topical, cleverly written and political.
The acting was A+. The whole cast created several different characters each with such enthusiasm and passion, making it an entertaining, funny, but also political, and meaningful. It was very poignant. I loved the costumes, very simple, all in black and white, or black and white stripes. I’m not sure why, but I just liked that. Anyway, it is a really interesting show, and definitely worth seeing to anyone who is interested in political theatre and wants to see a well acted, Fringe show.
Leave a Reply

