Romeo & Juliet

‘Tis torture and not mercy. Heaven is here,

Where Juliet lives, and every cat and dog

And little mouse, every unworthy thing,

Live here in heaven and may look on her,

But Romeo may not. More validity,

More honorable state, more courtship lives

In carrion flies than Romeo. They may seize

On the white wonder of dear Juliet’s hand

And steal immortal blessing from her lips,

Who even in pure and vestal modesty,

Still blush, as thinking their own kisses sin.

But Romeo may not. He is banishèd

Flies may do this, but I from this must fly.

They are free men, but I am banishèd.

And sayst thou yet that exile is not death?

Hadst thou no poison mixed, no sharp-ground knife,

No sudden mean of death, though ne’er so mean,

But “banishèd” to kill me?—“Banishèd”!

O Friar, the damnèd use that word in hell.

Howling attends it. How hast thou the heart,

Being a divine, a ghostly confessor,

A sin-absolver, and my friend professed,

To mangle me with that word “banishèd”?

Because of the chat about Shakespeare, I thought I’d share one of my favourite monologues from his work with you. I resisted from posting ‘To be or not to be’, because I mean, we all already know that. I’m not the biggest fan of Romeo & Juliet, but I do love this monologue from Romeo, just after he’s been banished from Verona. I saw it performed at my audition for CSSD, and the guy who did it, did it brilliantly, and got a deserving recall. Despite Romeo being basically a whiney teenager, this monologue has a lot of raw emotion and shows his deep love for Juliet. It is very emotional, and also a good monologue to perform for an audition I think. I hope to use it in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

